Pig Roast

I was asked to do a pig roast for my brother-inlaw’s birthday being that I never cooked a whole pig before I said no problem!!!   I started out by making about 5lbs of my special rub and a couple of gallons of BBQ sauce.  We picked up the pig & the roaster and the following day  my buddy Kurt & I went to work.  Once we had the pig on I started my mopping sauce and we mopped the pig every hour until it was done.  It was a lot of work but it was so much fun!!!  If you’ve never cooked a whole pig try it & let us know how it went!!!

Here’s a couple of side notes:

When ordering the pig figure on a pound per person remember there’s a lot of waste and you do want some leftovers for later.  This is a 2 person job so get your friends to help.  Keep in mind the pig should take about an hour per 10 lbs to cook.  Have the roaster temp about 250 degrees for the first 2 hrs  then bring it up to about 300 to 325 degrees until finished.  I had our roaster a little to high in temp & it made the skin a little dark but it sealed in the juices which worked for us.  Just add some foil to the skin if you want to keep it from burning.  Internal temp for the pig should be 160 to 165 degrees and let it rest before the picking starts.  We used gloves because the even after 45 minutes of resting it was still hot.  Kurt & I picked it apart while my uncle & cousin had 2 cutting stations so all in all it took about 45 minutes to pick a part.

 

About hotashbbq
I love BBQ and entertaining

Leave a Reply

